Visualise The Change In Rank Over Time With Bump Charts

Look beyond bar plots.

When visualizing the change in rank over time, using a bar chart may not be appropriate. Instead, try Bump Charts.

They are specifically used to visualize the rank of different items over time.

In contrast to the commonly used bar chart, they are clear, elegant, and easy to comprehend.

Over to you: What are some other bar chart alternatives to try in such cases? Let me know :)

Find the code for creating a bump chart in Python here: Notebook.

πŸ‘‰ Read what others are saying about this post on LinkedIn and Twitter.

πŸ‘‰ If you liked this post, don’t forget to leave a like ❀️. It helps more people discover this newsletter on Substack and tells me that you appreciate reading these daily insights. The button is located towards the bottom of this email.

πŸ‘‰ If you love reading this newsletter, feel free to share it with friends!

Find the code for my tips here: GitHub.

I like to explore, experiment and write about data science concepts and tools. You can read my articles on Medium. Also, you can connect with me on LinkedIn and Twitter.

Reply

or to participate.