An Underrated Technique To Create Better Data Plots

While creating visualizations, there are often certain parts that are particularly important. Yet, they may not be immediately obvious to the viewer.

A good data storyteller will always ensure that the plot guides the viewer's attention to these key areas.

One great way is to zoom in on specific regions of interest in a plot. This ensures that our plot indeed communicates what we intend it to depict.

In matplotlib, you can do so using 𝐢𝐧𝐝𝐢𝐜𝐚𝐭𝐞_𝐢𝐧𝐬𝐞𝐭_𝐳𝐨𝐨𝐦(). It adds an indicator box, that can be zoomed-in for better communication.

Find more info here: Matplotlib docs.

Share this post on LinkedIn: Post Link.

Hi there!

I am planning to start my personal blog where I will host long-form content such as blogs and courses. Would you be interested in reading more of my work?

Find the code for my tips here: GitHub.

I like to explore, experiment and write about data science concepts and tools. You can read my articles on Medium. Also, you can connect with me on LinkedIn.

Reply

or to participate.